Dog Gone, Back Soon by Nick Trout

When I first saw the cover of Nick Trout’s book ‘Dog Gone, Back Soon’, I was immediately attracted to the image; as there, peeking out at me from the shelves, was my dog Dougal!  Well it wasn’t actually Dougal, but it could have been!

So from that moment I was hooked – I had to read this book.  I have to say that I’m glad the cover of this book really grabbed me as it was a light-hearted enjoyable read, very much in the vein of ‘All Creatures Great and Small’.  It’s difficult not to make comparisons with the well-known memoir from James Herriott.  But this story is not a rip off or a memoir, it is a quaint piece of fiction about a loveable vet who is a champion in the surgery but not so confident when it comes to romance.

Sometimes the amount of enjoyment we get from a book depends on our mood, when we read it and what sort of books have come before.  As a follow-up to a couple of months of  crime reading, it was nice to indulge in something lighter and more cheery!

You can purchase this lovely book here.

IMG_20140628_180226

IMG_20140705_195206

Advertisements

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Lillie says:

    Beautiful dog, what ‘make’?!

    Like

    1. anghh says:

      Hi Lillie
      He is a labradoodle. I highly recommend the breed. He is the most perfect dog ever! Very gentle, loving and well behaved 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s